School Community Council (SCC)

School Community Council (S.C.C.)

The concept of Shared Governance has been implemented in the Salt Lake City School District since 1973. It was established to enable teachers, staff and community to participate in the decision making process of the school. Shared Governance operates under consensus and is implemented through the School Improvement Council (S.I.C.) and the School Community Council (S.C.C.).

The School Community Council is composed of:

  • PTA president and officers
  • school administration
  • SIC chair and teacher representative(s)
  • community representative


The purpose and duties of SCC:
School community councils are responsible for preparing plans that are submitted to the school board for approval. They also should assist, as needed, and provide support for the implementation of the approved plans. School community council members are to represent the group that elected them to the school community council, as they make decisions and bring issues to the school community council for consideration.
They may form subcommittees or task forces to address an issue or project and bring it to the school community council for approval. They are a good resource to school and district administrators in bringing issues of concern forward and in providing feedback, upon request.
The school plans for which the school community council has responsibility for developing are:

  • The School Improvement Plan
  • The School LAND Trust Plan
  • The Reading Achievement Plan (elementary)
  • The Child Access Routing Plan (all but high schools)
  • They also assist in the development of the Professional Development Plan but this plan is ultimately approved and submitted by staff


Below is a list of SCC Board Members. 

Greg Proffit (Principal):

Heather Bennett (District):

Sarah Hadley (PTA President):

Crystal Black (ELP Rep):

Paul Wickelson (SCC Chair):

Kristal Munk (Teacher Rep):

Carol Flowers (Teacher Rep):

Chris Herrmann (Staff Rep):

Members at Large:

Geordie McCleod:

Anne Harges:

Dorothy Draper:

Cecilia Gonzales:

Mark Jones:

Elizabeth Payne:

Jodi Miller:

Traci Walker:

Sarah Wentworth:


Land Trust Program Videos (Click link to watch video)

Upcoming Meetings

All interested parents or community members are invited to sit in on S.C.C. meetings. Contact the school to confirm meeting dates and times. Meetings are typically every 3rd Thursday of the month.


PTA/SCC Graphic

SCC Bylaws

School Community Council Meetings 2018 - 2019

Meeting Date Agendas Minutes
September 20, 2018 English English
October 25, 2018 English English
November 29, 2018 English English
January 24, 2019 English
February 21, 2019 English English
March 14, 2019 English
May 16, 2019 English

© Whittier Elementary School | Salt Lake City School District